You are currently in portrait mode. Rotate your device or widen your browser window for full compatibility.

Awards | Nominate an Educator


This year, The Covenant Foundation honors three extraordinary Jewish educators with Covenant Awards: Ms. Michelle Shapiro Abraham, Ms. Sandra Ostrowicz Lilienthal, Ed.D., and Ms. Amy Meltzer. Each Award carries with it a $36,000 prize for the educator and a $5,000 prize for the organization that employs the Award recipient.

2015 marks the twenty-fifth time The Covenant Foundation has acknowledged the extraordinary talent found in Jewish education. Seventy-five professionals have received this honor. We are looking to you to help continue this crucial tradition.

The 2016 Covenant Awards recipients will come from your communities. Please help us identify them! The Foundation seeks nominations of extraordinary educators who may have been overlooked, as well as outstanding educators in areas of Jewish education that have received too little attention. We continue to recognize the need to identify remarkable classroom teachers whose groundbreaking work can serve as a model for the community. Please help us to find and honor the next recipients of the Covenant Awards.

In the following guidelines, you will find everything you need to nominate a Jewish educator for the Award. Please read all of the instructions diligently and take note of the nominator's various responsibilities. The deadlines indicated on the materials are firm; the Foundation cannot accept materials that arrive after the deadline. If you are interested in nominating an exceptional educator, you must do so by November 19, 2015. We eagerly look forward to learning about the exceptional Jewish educators in your communities!

Harlene Winnick Appelman

Rare Finds

Mar 2, 2016

Take Your Soul to Work

For many of us with busy professional lives, there’s little time for reflection. But in this new book, renowned religious scholar and Covenant Award recipient Dr. Erica Brown offers ways for...[More]